Page Content

Coastal Coordination Advisory Committee

Decrease text sizeRestore defaule text sizeIncrease text size  Print this page

CCAC header

Upcoming Meeting:
view live webcast

Stephen F. Austin Bldg Room 170
1700 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701

Open to the public
Webcast live since 2004

past meetings

Established in 1991 by the 72nd Legislature the Coastal Coordination Council, comprised of members from state natural resource agencies, was responsible for administering the Coastal Management Program (CMP).

The Council underwent review by the Texas Sunset Commission in 2010. After a thorough review of the CMP, the Commission recommended the abolition of the Council and transferring administration of the Coastal Management Program to the Land Commissioner.

In response to the Commission’s review, the 82nd Legislature passed and the Governor signed into law a bill implementing the Commission’s recommendation to abolish the Council and transfer duties to the Land Commissioner.

The bill also required the Land Commissioner to establish a Coastal Coordination Advisory Committee (CCAC) by January 1, 2012.

The Advisory Committee is comprised of representatives appointed by the eight state natural resource agencies and from public members appointed by the Land Commissioner. The terms of office for the CCAC members will align with the Coastal Zone Management Act (CZMA) Section 309 five-year assessment of the CMP, with a shorter initial term (2011-2015). Meetings will be held as needed. Rules and guidelines are currently being developed.

Coastal Coordination Advisory Committee Members:

  • Commissioner Dude Payne, Local Government Representative
  • Pending, Agriculture Representative
  • Jerry Mohn, Local Business Representative
  • George Deshotels, Local Citizen Representative
  • Helen Young, Deputy of Coastal Resources, Texas General Land Office
  • Brian Koch, Regional Watershed Coordinator, Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board 
  • Leslie Savage, Chief Geologist, Railroad Commission of Texas
  • Ruben Solis, Director of Surface Water Resources, Texas Water Development Board
  • Pamela Plotkin, Director, Texas Sea Grant College Program
  • Ross Melinchuk, Natural Resources Deputy Executive Director, Texas Parks & Wildlife Commission
  • Carlos Swonke, Environmental Affairs Division Director, Texas Transportation Commission
  • Tucker Royall, Special Assistant to Commissioner Baker, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality