Page Content

Texas State Veterans Cemetery Committee

Decrease text sizeRestore defaule text sizeIncrease text size  Print this page

SLB header

Upcoming Meeting:


past meetings

Established in 1991 by the 72nd Texas Legislature, the Texas State Veterans Cemetery Committee (Committee) is responsible for the creation of guidelines to determine the location and size of veterans cemeteries, and the eligibility for burial in a veterans cemetery.

The Committee is composed of six members. The three-member board of the VLB is joined by the Chairman of the Texas Veterans Commission (TVC) and two representatives of the veterans community to form the Committee. Both representatives are appointed to the Committee by the Chairman of the TVC and serve at the Chairman’s pleasure. The Committee meets as necessary.

Committee meeting agendas are posted in the Texas Register and can be accessed via the Texas Secretary of State website. Agenda must be posted seven working days prior to a Committee meeting.

George P. Bush Alan Johnson Alan Sanderson
George P. Bush, Chairman Alan Johnson Alan K. Sanderson
Land Commissioner, Texas General Land Office
Member, Texas Veterans Land Board Member, Texas Veterans Land Board
Ex officio Ex officio Ex officio
T.P. OMahoney no photo no photo
T.P. O'Mahoney
James Duncan Glen M. Gardner, Jr.
Chairman, Texas Veterans Commission Texas Veterans Commission Veterans of Foreign Wars
Ex officio TVC Chairman TVC Chairman

Links to Additional Resources


Eric Brown
Texas State Veterans Cemetery Program
Eric Brown