

Texas General Land Office Commissioner Dawn Buckingham, M.D. 1700 North Congress Avenue Austin, Texas 78711-2873

§ STATE OF TEXAS

§ COUNTY \_\_\_\_\_

DATE \_\_\_\_\_

NOTICE OF INTENT TO LEASE COUNTY ROAD

TO: Mineral Owner or Owner of Land Adjoining the Hereinafter Described County Road

YOU ARE HEREBY GIVEN NOTICE of the State's intention to lease the oil and gas mineral rights underlying the County road owned by the County highlighted on the attached plat marked Exhibit "A."

You as a mineral owner of land adjoining said County road have a preferential right to acquire an oil and gas lease from the State (to the extent of your mineral interest in the adjoining land) to the center of the width of that portion of the County road adjoining your land upon the terms and conditions specified in the Act. If you share the mineral ownership of this adjoining land with other individuals, then your preferential right only allows you to lease a proportionate interest in the County road.

Your preferential right must be exercised within 120 days of receipt of this notice of intent to lease. To exercise your preferential right, you must first apply in writing to lease the County road. The School Land Board will use your application to determine the terms (including the bonus) of the lease you will be offered. Finally, you must, on or before the end of the 120-day period above stated, tender to the County, the bonus set by the School Land Board together with the statutory sales fee of 1-1/2% of the bonus to the Commissioner of the Texas General Land Office. Failure to exercise your preferential right within the 120-day period will result in a waiver of your preferential right to lease the County road.

If you are interested in exercising your preferential right, contact Energy Resources at 512-463-5043 or email <u>ER.Leasing@glo.texas.gov</u>, <u>upon receipt of this notice</u>. Energy Resources can explain in detail your preferential right and the procedure you must follow to lease the above described County road tract.

If you wish to waive your right to preferentially lease within the 120-day period, you may do so by sending a notarized waiver to the General Land Office at the above address.