Page Content

25th annual Adopt-A-Beach Fall Cleanup Sept. 24


Decrease text sizeRestore defaule text sizeIncrease text size  Print this page

All-volunteer coastal cleanup effort expected to draw about 10,000 beach lovers

Contact: Jim Suydam
512-463-2716
jim.suydam@glo.texas.gov
MEDIA ADVISORY — Aug 15, 2011



AUSTIN — The 25th Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Fall Cleanup will be held Saturday, Sept. 24 at 29 sites along the Texas coast. 

Adopt-A-Beach volunteers can register at any of 28 check-in sites all along the Texas coast between 8:30 a.m. and 9 a.m. on Sept. 24. Volunteers must pre-register for the St. Jo Island location in advance.  

Volunteers should wear shoes, a hat and sunscreen. Volunteers will be given data cards, gloves, pencils and trash bags. Most sites along the coast conclude the day's cleanup with cold drinks, hot food and lots of fun.

Volunteers may register on-line at www.TexasAdoptABeach.org or become a fan of the Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach program on Facebook. Texans who can't make it to the beach but still want to support the effort can make a tax-deductible donation at www.TexasAdoptABeach.org. Sponsorship levels range from $25 to $25,000. 

The Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach program began in the fall of 1986, when 2,800 volunteers picked up 124 tons of trash. Since then, it has grown into one of the most successful all-volunteer efforts in the nation. In 25 years, 413,000 Adopt-A-Beach volunteers have picked up more than 8,000 tons of trash from the Texas Gulf Coast.  

Shell Oil Company is the statewide sponsor for the 25th Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Fall Cleanup. Other sponsors include HNTB Corporation, AkzoNobel Surface Chemistry LLC, El Paso Corporation, Halliburton and the Ocean Conservancy. 

For more information about how you can get involved, call 1-877-TXCOAST or visit our Web site at www.texasadoptabeach.org.  

Don't Forget

  • Pick a site and call or e-mail the site coordinator.
  • Pre-register large groups with the site coordinator or online on or before Wednesday, September 21.
  • Wear sunscreen, shoes, sunglasses, and a hat.
  • Bring plenty of drinking water and bring mosquito repellant.
  • Check in by 9 a.m.
  • Do not disturb the habitat of nesting shorebirds.
  • For your safety, stay off the dunes.
  • We'll clean rain or shine!

WHO:                    About 10,000 Texans who care about the beach

WHAT:                 25th Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Fall Cleanup

WHERE:              29 sites on the Texas coast - see www.TexasAdoptABeach.org for a complete listing

WHEN:                 9 a.m. to noon Saturday, Sept. 24

WHY:                    To keep Texas beaches clean and healthy

Beaumont Market (3 sites)

  • 1. Sea Rim State Park

Check-in: Park entrance, 10 miles west of Sabine Pass on Highway 87 South

Contact: Tracy Ferguson

409-971-2559

tracy.ferguson@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 2. McFaddin Beach-Jefferson County

Check-in: McFaddin Beach entrance 1.9 miles west of Sea Rim State Park on Highway 87

Contact: Mark Guzman

409-896-5555 ext. 135

mark.guzman@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 3. Chambers County

Check-in: 1 mile east of the intersection of Highways 124 and 87 at the beach

Contact: Lana Yawn

409-267-2644 or 409-296-8250

lana.yawn@texasadoptabeach.org

Patti Kahla

409-267-1370 or 409-267-2650

            Angela Hale

            409-267-2647


Houston Market (9 sites)

  • 4. Horsepen Bayou-Harris County

Check-in: Clear Lake High School, 2929 Bay Area Blvd.

Contact: Andrew Schaafs

832-818-1381

andrew.schaafs@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 5. Bolivar Peninsula - Galveston

Check-in: Crenshaw Elementary, 416 Highway 87, about 7 miles from the ferry landing

Contact: Denise Parsons

409-795-1046

denise.parsons@texasadoptabeach.org

Janis Bridgers

janis.bridgers@texasadoptabeach.org

Mary Munro

mary.munro@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 6. The John M. O'Quinn I-45 Estuarial Corridor & Virginia Point Peninsula Preserve

Galveston County

Check-in: Exit 6 off I-45 at Reitan Point

Contact: Evangeline Whorton

979-234-2096 or 409-744-7431

409-789-4996 (cell)

evangeline.whorton@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 7. Galveston Island-Galveston County

Check-in: Menard Park, 27th Street & Seawall Boulevard

Contact: Gary Schero or Arielle Brown

409-762-3363

gary.schero@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 8. Surfside-Brazoria County

Check-in: Stahlman Park, C.R. 257 (Bluewater Hwy.)

Contact: James Glover, Brazoria County Parks Department

979-864-1541 ext. 3

james.glover@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 9. Quintana, Bryan Beach-Brazoria County

Check-in: Quintana Beach County Park, 5th Street

Contact: Patty Brinkmeyer

patty.brinkmeyer@texasadoptabeach.org

979-233-1461

 

  • 10. Sargent Beach, Bay City-Matagorda County

Check-in: Sargent Beach entrance

Contact: Lamar Brown

Tony Pustejovsky

979-244-6144

lamar.brown@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 11. Matagorda Beach-Matagorda County

Check-in: Matagorda Jetty Park

Contact:  Peggy Stanley

979-863-2920

979-216-6016 (cell)

peggy.stanley@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 12. Palacios-Matagorda County

Check-in: Pavilion at South Bay Park at South Bay Boulevard & 5th Street

Contact: Cynthia Garrett

979-532-0797

979-533-0808 (cell)

cynthia.garrett@texasadoptabeach.org 

Victoria Market (3 sites)

  • 13. Magnolia Beach/Indianola - Calhoun County

Check-in: Crabbin' Bridge

Contact: Rhonda Cummins

361-552-9747

 rhonda.cummins@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 14. King Fisher Beach, Port O'Connor-Calhoun County

Check-in: Pavilion at King Fisher Beach

Contact: Debbie Gayle

361-552-3200 (daytime)

361-983-4647 (evening)

debbie.gayle@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 15. Austwell Pier-Refugio County

Check-in: Austwell Pier

Contact: Dwight Mutschler

361-286-3762

austwellredfish@texasadoptabeach.org 

Corpus Christi Market (11 sites)

  • 16. Rockport-Aransas County

Check-in: Rockport Beach Park beachfront pavilion

Contact: Tom Staley

361-729-2213, ext. 226

tom.staley@texasadoptabeach.org

  • 17. Aransas Pass/Redfish Bay-Nueces County

Check-in: Lighthouse Lakes Park, 4 miles east of Aransas Pass on Highway 361

Contact: Richard Gonzales

            361-779-7351

            richard.gonzales@texasadoptabeach.org

  • 18. Portland-San Patricio County

Check-in: Sunset Lake Park, 201 Sunset Drive, adjacent to Highway 181

Contact: Aneita Ortiz-Cedano

361-816-1766

aneita.cedano@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 19. St. Jo Island/Port Aransas - Nueces County

Check-in: 8:00 a.m. - Fisherman's Wharf, 900 Tarpon Street

Contact: Deno Fabrie

361-749-0256

deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org 

*Limited access - reservations required

 

  • 20. Port Aransas-Nueces County

Check-in: Avenue G at the beach

Contact: Deno Fabrie

361-749-0256

deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 21. Mustang Island State Park, Corpus Christi-Nueces County

Check-in: 17047 State Highway 361

Contact: Paul Eubank

361-749-5246

paul.eubank@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 22. Corpus Christi Beach-Nueces County

Check-in: Texas State Aquarium

            2710 North Shoreline Boulevard

            Contact: Kara Hahn

            361-881-1259

            kara.hahn@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 23. Cole Park (Kid's Place), Corpus Christi-Nueces County

Check-in: 1526 Ocean Drive

Contact: Daiquiri Richard

361-855-2888

daiquiri.richard@texasadoptabeach.org

 24. North Padre Island, Corpus Christi-Kleberg County

Check-in: Padre Balli Park Office, 15820 Park Road 22

Contact: Jim Needham-Surfrider Foundation

361-825-2708

james.needham@texasadoptabeach.org

Todd Dwyer

361-853-9877

todd.dwyer@texasadoptabeach.org

Ilene Jantz

361-563-4119

ilene.jantz@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 25. Padre Island National Seashore-Kleberg County

Check-in:  Malaquite Visitor Center, 20420 Park Road 22

Contact:  William "Buzz" Botts

361-949-8068

buzz.botts@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 26. Baffin Bay, Rivera-Kleberg County

Check-in: Kaufer-Hubert Park, FM 628

Contact: Susan Ivy

361-595-8591

susan.ivy@texasadoptabeach.org 

Rio Grande Valley Market (3 sites)

  • 27. South Padre Island Cameron County Parks-Cameron County

Check-in: Andy Bowie Park, Access Road #2, Highway 100

Contact: Monica Vela

956-761-5494

Clemente Valdez

956-761-3704

monica.vela@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 28. South Padre Island City Beaches-Cameron County

Check-in: Town Beach Access #3 at Gulf Boulevard & Palm Street

Contact: Contact: Rob Nixon

956-433-1472

rob.nixon@texasadoptabeach.org

Elaine Sanchez

956-761-4596

elaine.sanchez@texasadoptabeach.org 

  • 29. Boca Chica-Cameron County

Check-in: End of Highway 4 at the beach

Contact: Lucy Martinez Hilliard

956-571-4522

lucym.hilliard@texasadoptabeach.org

 ###

 



More Press Releases

Links to Additional Resources

Press Versions


Links


Contacts

Jim Suydam
Press Secretary
Office of Communications
1700 N. Congress Ave.
Austin, Texas 78711
512-463-2716
512-417-5382
Jim Suydam