Page Content

Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup set for April 30


Decrease text sizeRestore defaule text sizeIncrease text size  Print this page

All-volunteer effort celebrates 25 years of caring for the Texas coast

Contact: Jim Suydam
512-463-2716
jim.suydam@glo.texas.gov
MEDIA ADVISORY — Mar 28, 2011



AUSTIN —  

The 25th annual Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup will take place Saturday, April 30th at 30 sites along the Texas coast. 

"Bring the family and let's go clean the beach," said Jerry Patterson, Commissioner of the Texas General Land Office. "The Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup is a great time for a great cause, and has been since 1986." 

The Adopt-A-Beach Program is one of the most successful all-volunteer efforts in the nation. In the past 25 years, 406,000 Adopt-A-Beach volunteers have picked up more than 7,900 tons of trash from the Texas Gulf Coast. And thanks to a generous $50,000 donation by Shell Oil Company and Motiva Enterprises LLC, Adopt-A-Beach will celebrate its 25th anniversary by reaching out to even more beach lovers. 

Volunteers may register on-line for the Spring Cleanup at www.TexasAdoptABeach.org or at one of the 29 check-in sites beginning at 8:30 a.m. Saturday, April 30th. Each volunteer will be given data cards, gloves, pencils and trash bags. All volunteers are advised to wear closed-toe shoes, bring sunscreen and plenty of drinking water.  

The Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Cleanups are held rain or shine! 

Texans who are not able to attend the cleanup can help keep their beaches clean by making a tax-deductible donation online at www.TexasAdoptABeach.org. There are several different Adopt-A-Beach sponsorship levels ranging from $25 to $25,000, allowing both individuals and corporations to contribute to this major cleanup effort. Statewide coastal cleanups are held every spring and fall. 

To learn how you can participate, or for additional information on the Adopt-A-Beach Program, please visit www.TexasAdoptABeach.org or contact the GLO at 1-877-TX COAST. Those interested may also become a fan of the program at www.facebook.com/texasadoptabeach where event details and results will also be posted. 

 Shell Oil Company and Motiva Enterprises LLC are the lead sponsors for the 25th Anniversary celebration of Adopt-A-Beach. Other sponsors include HNTB Corporation, AkzoNobel Surface Chemistry LLC, Flint Hills Resources Community Action Council, Harris and Eliza Kempner Fund, the Newfield Foundation and Keep Texas Beautiful.

  Who:               Thousands of Texans who care about the coast

What:             25th GLO Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup

When:             Saturday, April 30

                        Registration begins at 8:30 a.m.

                        Clean up will be from 9 a.m. to noon

Where:           30 sites along the Texas coast

 

  • 1. Sea Rim State Park

Check-in: Park entrance, 10 miles west of Sabine Pass on Highway 87 South

Contact: Tracy Ferguson

409-971-2559

tracy.ferguson@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 2. McFaddin Beach-Jefferson County

Check-in: McFaddin Beach entrance 1.9 miles west of Sea Rim State Park on Highway 87

Contact: Mark Guzman

409-896-5555 ext. 135

mark.guzman@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 3. Chambers County

Check-in: 1 mile east of the intersection of Highways 124 and 87 at the beach

Contact: Lana Yawn

409-267-2644 or 409-296-8250

lana.yawn@texasadoptabeach.org

Patti Kahla

409-267-1370 or 409-267-2650

            Angela Hale

            409-267-2647

 

  • 4. Horsepen Bayou-Harris County

Check-in: Clear Lake High School, 2929 Bay Area Blvd.

Contact: Andrew Schaafs

832-818-1381

andrew.schaafs@texasadoptabeach.org

 

 

  • 5. Bolivar Peninsula - Galveston

Check-in: Crenshaw Elementary, 416 Highway 87, about 7 miles from the ferry landing

Contact: Denise Parsons

409-795-1046

denise.parsons@texasadoptabeach.org

Janis Bridgers

janis.bridgers@texasadoptabeach.org

Mary Munro

mary.munro@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 6. Seabrook-Harris County

Check-in: Hwy. 146 north side of Clear Creek under bridge on Seabrook city side

Contact: Rex Ward

281-910-8774

rex.ward@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 7. The John M. O'Quinn I-45 Estuarial Corridor & Virginia Point Peninsula Preserve

Galveston County

Check-in: Exit 6 off I-45 at Reitan Point

Contact: Evangeline Whorton

979-234-2096 or 409-744-7431

409-789-4996 (cell)

evangeline.whorton@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 8. Galveston Island-Galveston County

Check-in: Menard Park, 27th Street & Seawall Boulevard

Contact: Gary Schero

409-762-3363

gary.schero@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 9. Surfside-Brazoria County

Check-in: Main beach entrance at Highway 332

Contact: James Glover, Brazoria County Parks Department

979-864-1541 ext. 3

james.glover@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 10. Quintana, Bryan Beach-Brazoria County

Check-in: Quintana Beach County Park, 5th Street

Contact: Patty Brinkmeyer

patty.brinkmeyer@texasadoptabeach.org

979-233-1461

 

 

  • 11. Sargent Beach, Bay City-Matagorda County

Check-in: Sargent Beach entrance

Contact: Lamar Brown

Tony Pustejovsky

979-244-6144

lamar.brown@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 12. Matagorda Beach-Matagorda County

Check-in: Matagorda Jetty Park

Contact:  Peggy Stanley

979-863-2920

979-216-6016 (cell)

peggy.stanley@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 13. Palacios-Matagorda County

Check-in: Pavilion at South Bay Park at South Bay Boulevard & 5th Street

Contact: Cynthia Garrett

979-532-0797

979-533-0808 (cell)

cynthia.garrett@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 14. Magnolia Beach/Indianola - Calhoun County

Check-in: Crabbin' Bridge

Contact: Rhonda Cummins

361-552-9747

 rhonda.cummins@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 15. King Fisher Beach, Port O'Connor-Calhoun County

Check-in: Pavilion at King Fisher Beach

Contact: Debbie Gayle

361-552-3200 (daytime)

361-983-4647 (evening)

debbie.gayle@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 16. Austwell Pier-Refugio County

Check-in: Austwell Pier

Contact: Dwight Mutschler

361-286-3762

austwellredfish@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 17. Rockport-Aransas County

Check-in: Rockport Beach Park beachfront pavilion

Contact: Tom Staley

361-729-2213, ext. 226

tom.staley@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 18. Aransas Pass/Redfish Bay-Nueces County

Check-in: Lighthouse Lakes Park, 4 miles east of Aransas Pass on Highway 361

Contact: Richard Gonzales

            361-779-7351

            richard.gonzales@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 19. Portland-San Patricio County

Check-in: Sunset Lake Park, 201 Sunset Drive, adjacent to Highway 181

Contact: Tracy Shelton

361-960-8643

tracy.shelton@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 20. St. Jo Island/Port Aransas - Nueces County

Check-in: 8:00 a.m. - Fisherman's Wharf, 900 Tarpon Street

Contact: Deno Fabrie

361-749-0256

deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org

 

*Limited access - reservations required

 

  • 21. Port Aransas-Nueces County

Check-in: Avenue G at the beach

Contact: Deno Fabrie

361-749-0256

deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 22. Mustang Island State Park, Corpus Christi-Nueces County

Check-in: 17047 State Highway 361

Contact: Paul Eubank

361-749-5246

paul.eubank@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 23. Corpus Christi Beach-Nueces County

Check-in: Texas State Aquarium

            2710 North Shoreline Boulevard

            Contact: Kara Hahn

            361-881-1259

            kara.hahn@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 24. Cole Park (Kid's Place), Corpus Christi-Nueces County

Check-in: 1526 Ocean Drive

Contact: Daiquiri Richard

361-855-2888

daiquiri.richard@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 25. North Padre Island, Corpus Christi-Kleberg County

Check-in: Padre Balli Park Office, 15820 Park Road 22

Contact: Jim Needham-Surfrider Foundation

361-825-2708

james.needham@texasadoptabeach.org

Todd Dwyer

361-853-9877

todd.dwyer@texasadoptabeach.org

Ilene Jantz

361-563-4119

ilene.jantz@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 26. Padre Island National Seashore-Kleberg County

Check-in:  Malaquite Visitor Center, 20420 Park Road 22

Contact:  William "Buzz" Botts

361-949-8068

buzz.botts@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 27. Baffin Bay, Rivera-Kleberg County

Check-in: Kaufer-Hubert Park, FM 628

Contact: Susan Ivy

361-595-8591

susan.ivy@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 28. South Padre Island Cameron County Parks-Cameron County

Check-in: Andy Bowie Park, Access Road #2, Highway 100

Contact: Monica Vela

956-761-5494

Clemente Valdez

956-761-3704

monica.vela@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 29. South Padre Island City Beaches-Cameron County

Check-in: Town Beach Access #3 at Gulf Boulevard & Palm Street

Contact: Contact: Rob Nixon

956-433-1472

rob.nixon@texasadoptabeach.org

Elaine Sanchez

956-761-4596

elaine.sanchez@texasadoptabeach.org

 

  • 30. Boca Chica-Cameron County

Check-in: End of Highway 4 at the beach

Contact: Lucy Martinez Hilliard

956-571-4522

lucym.hilliard@texasadoptabeach.org

 

 

###

 

 



More Press Releases

Links to Additional Resources

Press Versions


Links


Contacts

Jim Suydam
Press Secretary
Office of Communications
1700 N. Congress Ave.
Austin, TX 78711
512-463-2716
512-417-5382
Jim Suydam