Page Content

Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup set for April 28


Decrease text sizeRestore defaule text sizeIncrease text size  Print this page

10,000 Texans to tackle trash in nation’s biggest coastal cleanup

Contact: Jim Suydam
512-463-2716
jim.suydam@glo.texas.gov
MEDIA ADVISORY — Mar 29, 2012



AUSTIN — Thousands of volunteers across the state are making plans now to take part in the Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup Saturday, April 28.   

Texas - home to the nation's first all-volunteer beach cleanup in 1986 - boasts one of the biggest all-volunteer beach cleanups in the world. More than 10,000 Texans are expected to participate in the Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup at 30 sites along the Texas Coast. 

"Texans aren't afraid to roll-up their sleeves and get to work for a good cause, and Adopt-A-Beach is a great one," said Texas Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson. "Marine debris literally chokes the life out of the ocean, and it's a completely avoidable problem."  

Volunteers may register on-line for the Spring Cleanup at www.TexasAdoptABeach.org or at 29 of the 30 check-in sites (advanced registration required for St. Jo Island) beginning at 8:30 a.m. Saturday, April 28th . Each volunteer will be given data cards, gloves, pencils and trash bags. All volunteers are advised to wear closed-toe shoes, bring sunscreen and plenty of drinking water.  

The Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Cleanups are held rain or shine! 

Texans who are not able to attend the cleanup can help keep their beaches clean by making a tax-deductible donation online at www.TexasAdoptABeach.org. There are several different Adopt-A-Beach sponsorship levels ranging from $25 to $25,000, allowing both individuals and corporations to contribute to this major cleanup effort. Statewide coastal cleanups are held every spring and fall. 

To learn how you can participate, or for additional information on the Adopt-A-Beach Program, please visit www.TexasAdoptABeach.org or contact the GLO at 1-877-TX COAST. Those interested may also become a fan of the program at www.facebook.com/texasadoptabeach where event details and results will also be posted.   


Who:               Thousands of Texans who care about the coast

What:             26th GLO Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup

When:             Saturday, April 28

                        Registration begins at 8:30 a.m.

                        Clean up will be from 9 a.m. to noon

Where:           30 sites along the Texas coast

Statewide Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup Sites

•1.                  Sea Rim State Park

Check-in: Park entrance, 10 miles west of Sabine Pass on Highway 87 South

Contact: Tracy Ferguson, 409-971-2559, tracy.ferguson@texasadoptabeach.org; Jan Dicharry, 409-920-9082, jan.dicharry@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•2.                  McFaddin Beach-Jefferson County

Check-in: McFaddin Beach entrance 1.9 miles west of Sea Rim State Park on Highway 87

Contact: Mark Guzman, 409-896-5555 ext. 135, mark.guzman@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•3.                  Chambers County

Check-in: 1 mile east of the intersection of Highways 124 and 87 at the beach

Contact: Lana Yawn, 409-267-2644 or 409-296-8250, lana.yawn@texasadoptabeach.org; Patti Kahla, 409-267-1370 or 409-267-2650; Angela Hale 409-267-2647

 

•4.                  Horsepen Bayou-Harris County

Check-in: Clear Lake High School, 2929 Bay Area Blvd.

Contact: Andrew Schaafs, 832-818-1381, andrew.schaafs@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•5.                  Bolivar Peninsula - Galveston

Check-in: Crenshaw Elementary, 416 Highway 87, about 7 miles from the ferry landing

Contact: Denise Parsons, 409-795-1046, denise.parsons@texasadoptabeach.org; Janis Bridgers, janis.bridgers@texasadoptabeach.org; Mary Munro, mary.munro@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•6.                  Seabrook-Harris County

Check-in: Hwy. 146 north side of Clear Creek under bridge on Seabrook city side

Contact: Rex Ward, 281-910-8774, rex.ward@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•7.                  The John M. O'Quinn I-45 Estuarial Corridor & Virginia Point Peninsula Preserve

Galveston County ** please call for reservations for this location**

Check-in: Exit 6 off I-45 at Reitan Point

Contact: Evangeline Whorton, 979-234-2096 or 409-744-7431, 409-789-4996 (cell)

evangeline.whorton@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•8.                  Galveston Island-Galveston County

Check-in: Menard Park, 27th Street & Seawall Boulevard

Contact: Gary Schero or Arielle Brown, 409-762-3363, gary.schero@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•9.                  Surfside-Brazoria County

Check-in: Main beach entrance at Highway 332

Contact: James Glover, Brazoria County Parks Department, 979-864-1541 ext. 3, james.glover@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•10.              Quintana, Bryan Beach-Brazoria County

Check-in: Quintana Beach County Park, 5th Street

Contact: Patty Brinkmeyer, 979, 233-1461, patty.brinkmeyer@texasadoptabeach.org

  

•11.              Sargent Beach, Bay City-Matagorda County

Check-in: Sargent Beach entrance

Contact: Lamar Brown, 979-244-6144, lamar.brown@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•12.              Matagorda Beach-Matagorda County

Check-in: Matagorda Jetty Park

Contact:  Peggy Stanley, 979-863-2920, 979-216-6016 (cell), peggy.stanley@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•13.              Palacios-Matagorda County

Check-in: Pavilion at South Bay Park at South Bay Boulevard & 5th Street

Contact: Cynthia Garrett, 979-532-0797, 979-533-0808 (cell), cynthia.garrett@texasadoptabeach.org; Mary Kathryn Smith, 361-972-3774, mary.smith@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•14.              Magnolia Beach/Indianola - Calhoun County

Check-in: Crabbin' Bridge

Contact: Rhonda Cummins, 361-552-9747,  rhonda.cummins@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•15.              King Fisher Beach, Port O'Connor-Calhoun County

Check-in: Pavilion at King Fisher Beach

Contact: Debbie Gayle, 361-552-3200 (daytime), 361-983-4647 (evening), debbie.gayle@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•16.              Austwell Pier-Refugio County

Check-in: Austwell Pier

Contact: Dwight Mutschler, 361-286-3762, austwellredfish@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•17.              Rockport-Aransas County

Check-in: Rockport Beach Park beachfront pavilion

Contact: Tom Staley, 361-729-2213, ext. 226, tom.staley@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•18.              Aransas Pass/Redfish Bay-Nueces County

Check-in: Lighthouse Lakes Park, 4 miles east of Aransas Pass on Highway 361

Contact: Richard Gonzales, 361-779-7351, richard.gonzales@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•19.              Portland-San Patricio County

Check-in: Sunset Lake Park, 201 Sunset Drive, adjacent to Highway 181

Contact: Aneita Ortiz-Cedano, 361-779-7351, aneita.cedano@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•20.              St. Jo Island/Port Aransas - Nueces County

Check-in: 8:00 a.m. - Fisherman's Wharf, 900 Tarpon Street

Contact: Deno Fabrie, 361-749-0256, deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org

*Limited access - reservations required

 

•21.              Port Aransas-Nueces County

Check-in: Avenue G at the beach

Contact: Deno Fabrie, 361-749-0256, deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•22.              Mustang Island State Park, Corpus Christi-Nueces County

Check-in: 17047 State Highway 361

Contact: Mike Mullenweg, 361-749-5246, mike.mullenweg@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•23.              Corpus Christi Beach-Nueces County

Check-in: Texas State Aquarium

2710 North Shoreline Boulevard

Contact: Kara Hahn, 361-881-1259, kara.hahn@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•24.              Cole Park (Kid's Place), Corpus Christi-Nueces County

Check-in: 1526 Ocean Drive

Contact: Angela Gonzalez, 361-826-3673, angela.gonzalez@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•25.              North Padre Island, Corpus Christi-Kleberg County

Check-in: Padre Balli Park Office, 15820 Park Road 22

Contact: Jim Needham-Surfrider Foundation, 361-825-2708, james.needham@texasadoptabeach.org; Todd Dwyer, 361-853-9877, todd.dwyer@texasadoptabeach.org; Ilene Jantz, 361-563-4119, ilene.jantz@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•26.              Padre Island National Seashore-Kleberg County

Check-in:  Malaquite Visitor Center, 20420 Park Road 22

Contact:  William "Buzz" Botts, 361-949-8068, buzz.botts@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•27.              Baffin Bay, Rivera-Kleberg County

Check-in: Kaufer-Hubert Park, FM 628

Contact: Susan Ivy, 361-595-8591, susan.ivy@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•28.              South Padre Island Cameron County Parks-Cameron County

Check-in: Andy Bowie Park, Access Road #2, Highway 100

Contact: Monica Vela, 956-761-5494, monica.vela@texasadoptabeach.org; Clemente Valdez, 956-761-3704

 

•29.              South Padre Island City Beaches-Cameron County

Check-in: Town Beach Access #3 at Gulf Boulevard & Palm Street

Contact: Contact: Rob Nixon, 956-433-1472, rob.nixon@texasadoptabeach.org;  

Elaine Sanchez, 956-761-4596, elaine.sanchez@texasadoptabeach.org

 

•30.              Boca Chica-Cameron County

Check-in: End of Highway 4 at the beach

Contact: Lucy Martinez Hilliard, 956-571-4522, lucym.hilliard@texasadoptabeach.org

###



More Press Releases

Links to Additional Resources

Press Versions


Links


Contacts

Jim Suydam
Press Secretary
Office of Communications
1700 N. Congress
Austin, Texas 78711
512-463-2716