Page Content

Patterson promotes Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup with shocking PSA


Decrease text sizeRestore defaule text sizeIncrease text size  Print this page

More than 10,000 Texans join forces April 20 for nation’s biggest coastal cleanup

Contact: Jim Suydam
512-463-2716
jim.suydam@glo.texas.gov
PRESS RELEASE — Mar 26, 2013



AUSTIN — The annual Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup is Saturday, April 20 and Texas Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson is getting the word out with a creative -- and revolting -- new public service announcement. 

"Fresh from the sea, enjoy these special dishes prepared just for you, like used cigarette butts and broken bottle combo," says an unreasonably chipper voice while a plate piled with broken glass and beer bottle tops is served up. "Or why not try our new catch of the day - 55-gallon drum. And make sure to save plenty of room for our all new dirty diaper pie." 

The ad is available is being sent to television stations statewide and is available here: http://youtu.be/wPD6Dau2m9g 

"This ad is intentionally disgusting," Patterson said. "But sometimes folks need to be shocked into understanding that the trash they drop on the beach makes it into the ocean and eventually into our food chain.  Hopefully this ad will motivate people to keep our beaches clean. Just don't watch it before dinner." 

Texas - home to the nation's first all-volunteer beach cleanup in 1986 - boasts one of the biggest all-volunteer beach cleanups in the world. And on April 20, more than 10,000 Texans are expected to participate in the Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup at 28 sites along the Texas Coast. 

Volunteers may register on-line for the Spring Cleanup at www.TexasAdoptABeach.org or at 27 of the 28 check-in sites (advanced registration required for St. Jo Island) beginning at 8:30 a.m. Saturday, April 20. Each volunteer will be given data cards, gloves, pencils and trash bags. All volunteers are advised to wear closed-toe shoes, bring sunscreen and plenty of drinking water.  The Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Cleanups are held rain or shine! 

Texans who are not able to attend the cleanup can help keep their beaches clean by making a tax-deductible donation online at www.TexasAdoptABeach.org. There are several different Adopt-A-Beach sponsorship levels ranging from $25 to $25,000, allowing both individuals and corporations to contribute to this major cleanup effort. Statewide coastal cleanups are held every spring and fall. Shell Oil Company and Motiva Enterprises are the lead statewide sponsors for the 27th Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup. Other sponsors include HNTB, Exxon-Mobil Chemical, Schlumberger, Keep Texas Beautiful, Halliburton, the Newfield Foundation, the Environmentally Friendly Drilling Program and SeaWorld of San Antonio.  

To learn how you can participate, or for additional information on the Adopt-A-Beach program, please visit www.TexasAdoptABeach.org or contact the GLO at 1-877-TX COAST. Those interested may also become a fan of the program at www.facebook.com/texasadoptabeach where event details and results will also be posted. 

Who:                      Thousands of Texans who care about the coast

What:                    27th GLO Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup

When:                    Saturday, April 20

                                Registration begins at 8:30 a.m.

                                Clean up will be from 9 a.m. to noon

Where:                 28 sites along the Texas coast

Statewide Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup Sites

1. Sea Rim State Park

Check-in: Park entrance, 10 miles west of Sabine Pass on Highway 87 South

Contact: Ben Herman, 409-971-2559, ben.herman@texasadoptabeach.org;

Jan Dicharry, 409-920-9082, jan.dicharry@texasadoptabeach.org

 2. McFaddin Beach-Jefferson County

Check-in: McFaddin Beach entrance 1.9 miles west of Sea Rim State Park on Highway 87

Contact: Mark Guzman, 409-896-5555 ext. 135, mark.guzman@texasadoptabeach.org

 3. Chambers County

Check-in: 1 mile east of the intersection of Highways 124 and 87 at the beach

Contact: Lana Yawn, 409-267-2644, lana.yawn@texasadoptabeach.org; Patti Adams, 409-267-1370; Angela Hale 409-267-2647

 4. Bolivar Peninsula - Galveston

Check-in: Crenshaw Elementary, 416 Highway 87, about 7 miles from the ferry landing

Contact: Denise Parsons, 409-795-1046, denise.parsons@texasadoptabeach.org; Suzy Broussard, 409-659-7432, suzy.broussard@texasadoptabeach.org; Janis Bridgers, janis.bridgers@texasadoptabeach.org; Mary Munro, mary.munro@texasadoptabeach.org

 5. Seabrook-Harris County

Check-in: Hwy. 146 north side of Clear Creek under bridge on Seabrook city side

Contact: Rex Ward, 281-910-8774, rex.ward@texasadoptabeach.org

 6. Galveston Island-Galveston County

Check-in: Menard Park, 27th Street & Seawall Boulevard

Contact: Gary Schero or Arielle Brown, 409-762-3363, gary.schero@texasadoptabeach.org

 7. Surfside-Brazoria County

Check-in: Main beach entrance at Highway 332

Contact: James Glover, Brazoria County Parks Department, 979-864-1541, james.glover@texasadoptabeach.org

 8. Quintana, Bryan Beach-Brazoria County

Check-in: Quintana Beach County Park, 5th Street

Contact: Patty Brinkmeyer, 979, 233-1461, patty.brinkmeyer@texasadoptabeach.org

9. Sargent Beach, Bay City-Matagorda County

Check-in: Sargent Beach entrance

Contact: Lamar Brown, 979-244-6144, lamar.brown@texasadoptabeach.org

 10. Matagorda Beach-Matagorda County

Check-in: Matagorda Jetty Park

Contact:  Peggy Stanley, 979-863-2920, 979-216-6016 (cell), peggy.stanley@texasadoptabeach.org

11. Palacios-Matagorda County

Check-in: Pavilion at South Bay Park at South Bay Boulevard & 5th Street

Contact: Cynthia Garrett, 979-532-0797, 979-533-0808 (cell), cynthia.garrett@texasadoptabeach.org; Mary Kathryn Niccolai, 361-972-3774, mary.niccolai@texasadoptabeach.org,

 12. Magnolia Beach/Indianola - Calhoun County

Check-in: Crabbin' Bridge

Contact: Rhonda Cummins, 361-552-9747,  rhonda.cummins@texasadoptabeach.org

 13. King Fisher Beach, Port O'Connor-Calhoun County

Check-in: Pavilion at King Fisher Beach

Contact: Debbie Gayle, 361-552-3200 (daytime), 361-983-4647 (evening), debbie.gayle@texasadoptabeach.org

 14. Austwell Pier-Refugio County

Check-in: Austwell Pier

Contact: Dwight Mutschler, 361-286-3762, (cell) 361-550-5485, austwellredfish@texasadoptabeach.org

 15. Rockport-Aransas County

Check-in: Rockport Beach Park beachfront pavilion

Contact: Kerry Goodall, 361-729-6661, kerry.goodall@texasadoptabeach.org

16. Aransas Pass/Redfish Bay-Nueces County

Check-in: Lighthouse Lakes Park, 4 miles east of Aransas Pass on Highway 361

Contact: Richard Gonzales, 361-779-7351, richard.gonzales@texasadoptabeach.org

 17. Portland-San Patricio County

Check-in: Sunset Lake Park, 201 Sunset Drive, adjacent to Highway 181

Contact: Aneita Ortiz-Cedano, 361-779-7351, aneita.cedano@texasadoptabeach.org

 18. St. Jo Island/Port Aransas - Nueces County

Check-in: 8:00 a.m. - Fisherman's Wharf, 900 Tarpon Street

Contact: Deno Fabrie, 361-749-0256, deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org

*Limited access - reservations required

 19. Port Aransas-Nueces County

Check-in: Avenue G at the beach

Contact: Deno Fabrie, 361-749-0256, deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org

 20. Mustang Island State Park, Corpus Christi-Nueces County

Check-in: 17047 State Highway 361

Contact: Mike Mullenweg, 361-749-5246, mike.mullenweg@texasadoptabeach.org

 21. Corpus Christi Beach-Nueces County

Check-in: Texas State Aquarium

2710 North Shoreline Boulevard

Contact: Kara Hahn, 361-881-1259, kara.hahn@texasadoptabeach.org

 22. Cole Park (Kid's Place), Corpus Christi-Nueces County

Check-in: 1526 Ocean Drive

Contact: Angela Gonzalez, 361-826-3673, angela.gonzalez@texasadoptabeach.org

 23. North Padre Island, Corpus Christi-Kleberg County

Check-in: Padre Balli Park Office, 15820 Park Road 22

Contact: Jim Needham-Surfrider Foundation, 361-825-2708, james.needham@texasadoptabeach.org; Todd Dwyer, 361-853-9877, todd.dwyer@texasadoptabeach.org; Gladys Choyke, 361-816-1243, gladys.choyke@texasadoptabeach.org

 24. Padre Island National Seashore-Kleberg County

Check-in:  Malaquite Visitor Center, 20420 Park Road 22

Contact:  William "Buzz" Botts, 361-949-8068, buzz.botts@texasadoptabeach.org

 25. Baffin Bay, Rivera-Kleberg County

Check-in: Kaufer-Hubert Park, FM 628

Contact: Susan Ivy, 361-595-8591, susan.ivy@texasadoptabeach.org

 26. South Padre Island Cameron County Parks-Cameron County

Check-in: Andy Bowie Park, Access Road #2, Highway 100

Contact: Blanca Macias, 956-761-5494, Clemente Valdez, 956-761-3704

 27. South Padre Island City Beaches-Cameron County

Check-in: Town Beach Access #3 at Gulf Boulevard & Palm Street

Contact: Contact: Elaine Sanchez, 956-761-7584, elaine.sanchez@texasadoptabeach.org

 28. Boca Chica-Cameron County

Check-in: End of Highway 4 at the beach

Contact: Lucy Martinez Hilliard, 956-571-4522, lucym.hilliard@texasadoptabeach.org

###

 



More Press Releases

Links to Additional Resources

Press Versions


Links


Contacts

Jim Suydam
Press Secretary
Office of Communications
1700 N. Congress Ave.
Austin, Texas 78711
512-463-2716
Jim Suydam