Page Content

Home Loans


Decrease text sizeRestore defaule text sizeIncrease text size  Print this page

VLB Home Loans

Home Loans
  • Exclusively for eligible Texas veterans
  • Up to $417,000 for home purchase
  • Fixed rate loans of 15, 20, 25 or 30 years
  • Originates with participating lender
  • Home must be primary residence
  • Home must be in Texas
  • New homes must be ENERGY STAR® certified or have a HERS Index score of 75 or less
  • Subject to credit approval

eligible button

find a lender

Discounts may apply.
Learn More

NOTE: All VLB interest rates and available discounts are subject to change at any time. VLB Base Rate is subject to adjustment on the first business day of each week. All VLB loans are subject to credit approval.

In 1983, the Legislature created the VLB Veterans Housing Assistance Program to assist Texas veterans in purchasing a home. Through this program, eligible Texas veterans have an opportunity to purchase a home with an unbeatable, low-interest loan with little or no money down.

The VLB can make a Home Loan for most types of homes, but check to make sure. View Home Requirements

A VLB Home Loan may be used to purchase a home that meets these requirements:

  • Must be the veteran’s primary residence
  • Must be located in Texas
  • Must be a single family attached or detached home, town home, or condominium
  • Duplexes or other multi-family units must have been constructed at least five years prior to the closing date of the loan.
  • Manufactured / modular homes may be eligible. Contact the VLB or participating lender to confirm.
  • All new construction homes must meet:
    1. The Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) guidelines for ENERGY STAR® qualified homes, and must be ENERGY STAR® labeled and certified; OR
    2. A HERS Index Score of 75 or less following the RESNET National Home Energy Rating Standards and must have an energy rating Certificate that documents the HERS Index score of 75 or less

Texas veterans must find a lender participating in the Veterans Housing Assistance Program (VHAP), and request a Texas Veterans Home Loan application to start the process. Once the application has been completed, it must be returned to the lender. Find A Lender

The veteran must occupy the home within 60 days after the closing of the loan, and the home must remain the veteran's primary residence for at least three years.

star Efficient homes at great rates . . .
To be eligible for VLB Home Loan financing, new-construction homes must meet the federal government standards for energy efficiency in the Energy Star™ program or have a HERS index score of 75 or less.  Learn More

star Disabled veteran?
The VLB offers an interest rate reduction to qualifying veterans with disabilities. Learn More

star Building a house?
While the VLB cannot provide interim construction financing, Texas veterans can work with participating lenders to use a “take-out” loan when the home is complete.  Learn More


Links to Additional Resources

Applications


External Links


Contacts

VLB Help Line
1.800.252.VETS (8387)
512.463.5060
VLB Help Line