Page Content

Seismic Permitting


Decrease text sizeRestore default text sizeIncrease text size  Print this page

While geophysical exploration does not require a lease from the Land Office, a permit to perform seismic work on state-owned land is required to ensure standards of safety and compliance are maintained.

Application Information:
Requirements for Submerged Lands, Gulf of Mexico, Bays and All Tidally Influenced Waters: Applicant is required to complete the application and following items to perform seismic work on state-owned land:
  1. A list of the state tracts, any corresponding environmental codes (available from the Land Office), X and Y coordinates of the beginning and ending points of each line;
  2. Ten (10) copies of map showing the state tracts, all proposed shot and receiver lines, bird rookery islands and oyster reefs (public or private).

Fee: $100.00 per permit.

All other applicable fees must be paid prior to issuance of a geophysical permit on state-owned lands.

Additional fees may apply based on area, location and energy source. See below for examples.

  • High velocity energy sources: $5.00 per acre in bays and other tideland areas; $2.00 per acre in the Gulf of Mexico.
  • Low velocity energy sources: $2.50 per acre in bays and other tideland areas; $1.00 per acre in the Gulf of Mexico.
  • Other exploration techniques: negotiable.

Payable To:

Texas General Land Office
ATTN: Energy Resources/Mineral Leasing
P.O. Box 12873
Austin, TX 78711-2873


Requirements for Upland Tracts: submit application to Perform Seismic Work on State-Owned Land:
  1. A topographic plot showing all shot and receiver lines and any state-owned tracts to be permitted.
    Notes: 1. An archeological survey may be required for properties in which the state owns the surface estate. 2. On unleased Relinquishment Act lands, all fees for actual damages, if any, to personal property, improvements, livestock, or crops are to be negotiated with the surface owner. Any fees in excess of actual damages must be shared equally with the state.

Fee: $100.00 per permit.

Additional fees may apply based on area, location and energy source. See below for examples. Surface damage fees for unleased uplands: $2.50 per acre for Vibroseis; $5.00 per acre for high velocity energy sources. Gravity meter and/or magnetometer: fair market value, but not less than $2.50 per acre. Other exploration techniques: negotiable.

Payable To:

The Texas General Land Office
ATTN: Energy Resources/Mineral Leasing
P.O. Box 12873
Austin, TX 78711-2873

Links to Additional Resources

Applications


Statutes & Codes


Contacts

Seismic Permitting
George Martin
Landman
512.475.1512
George Martin
Robert Hatter
Director, Mineral Leasing
512.475.1542
Robert Hatter