• The GLO
  • Boards & Commissions

School Land Board


The School Land Board (SLB) was established in 1939 by the 46th Legislature to manage the sale and mineral leasing of Permanent School Fund (PSF) lands.The SLB’s responsibilities include approving land sales, trades and exchanges, and the purchase of land for the PSF. In addition to this, the SLB issues permits, leases and easements for uses of state-owned submerged land.The SLB is composed offivemembers.

The Commissioner of the Texas General Land Office serves as Chairman of the SLB and is joined byfourcitizen members.Threecitizen members are appointed by the Governor while the other is appointed by the Attorney General.

Citizen members serve two-year terms, and may be reappointed, while the Commissioner serves during his/her term in office.

The SLB meets as needed on the first and third Tuesdays of every month, but may call special meetings if necessary.

SLB meetings are open to the public and since 2005 have been webcast live.SLB meeting agendas are posted in the Texas Register and can be accessed via the Texas Secretary of State website. Agendas must be posted seven working days prior to a SLB meeting.


  • George P. Bush, Chairman // January 2015 - Present (Ex officio)
  • Gilbert Burciaga// September 2015 – August 2021
  • Michael Scott Rohrman // September 2017 – August 2021
  • Michael A. Neill// September 2019 – August 2021


Upcoming Meeting

School Land Board Meeting Zoom Webinar

You are invited to a Zoom webinar.

When: May 11, 2022 10:00 AM Central Time (US and Canada)


Please click the link below to join the webinar:


Passcode: 106132


Or One tap mobile :

    US: +13462487799,,82655218453#  or +16699006833,,82655218453#


Or Telephone:

    Dial: +1 346 248 7799  or +1 669 900 6833  or +1 253 215 8782 

Webinar ID: 826 5521 8453