• The GLO
  • Boards & Commissions

Board for Lease: Texas Parks and Wildlife Department


The Board for Lease, Texas Parks & Wildlife Department (Board), was created to lease land owned by the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department (TPWD). The Board is composed of three members. The Commissioner of the Texas General Land Office serves as Chairwoman of the Board and is joined by the Executive Director of TPWD. The Executive Director of TPWD may appoint the head of the TPWD department responsible for land management to serve on the Board in his/her place. The third member of the Board is a citizen appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. The citizen member serves a term of two years.

Board meetings are held as necessary and are open to the public. As of 2005, Board meetings are webcast live, as well as archived for later viewing.

Board meeting agendas are posted in the Texas Register and can be accessed via the Texas Secretary of State website. Agenda must be posted seven working days prior to a Board meeting.

Upcoming Meeting


Stephen F. Austin Bldg Room 940A
1700 North Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701


  • Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chairwoman // January 2023 - Present
  • Stan David // 2017 – Present (Ex officio)
  • Cliff Bickerstaff // August 2016 – February 1, 2021