Board for Lease: Texas Department of Criminal Justice
  • The GLO
  • Boards & Commissions

Board for Lease: Texas Department of Criminal Justice


The Board for Lease, Texas Department of Criminal Justice was created to lease land owned by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ). The Board is composed of three members. The Commissioner of the Texas General Land Office serves as Chairwoman of the Board and is joined by the Chairman of the Texas Board of Criminal Justice. The Chairman of TDCJ may appoint the head of the TDCJ department responsible for land management to serve on the Board in his/her place. The third member of the Board is a citizen appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. The citizen member serves a term of two years.

Board meetings are held as necessary and are open to the public. As of 2005, Board meetings are webcast live, as well as archived for later viewing.

Board meeting agendas are posted in the Texas Register and can be accessed via the Texas Secretary of State website. Agenda must be posted seven working days prior to a Board meeting.


  • Dawn Buckingham, M.D., Chairwoman
  • Tom Fordyce
  • Erin Lunceford

Upcoming Meeting

August 14, 2024 at 11:00 AM
Conference Room 940A, SFA